

IDAHO LAW ENFORCEMENT, FIREFIGHTING AND EMS MEDAL OF HONOR COMMISSION

Office of the Idaho Attorney General Statehouse, Room C210 700 West Jefferson Street Boise, Idaho

MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, August 23, 2023 1:30 p.m.

Item 1 – Call to Order. Attorney General Raúl R. Labrador, chairing the meeting, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

Item 1a – The Commission Secretary called roll.

The following Commissioners were present:

Raúl R. Labrador, Attorney General, Office of the Idaho Attorney General Kirk Carpenter, Chief, Nampa FD, Idaho Fire Chiefs Association Wayne Denny, Chief, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services & Preparedness Jeremy Engbaum, Chief, Buhl PD, Idaho Chiefs of Police Association Brad Johnson, Division Administrator, Peace Officer Standards & Training Jared Larsen, Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor Bryan Taylor, Prosecuting Attorney, Idaho Prosecuting Attorneys Association

The following Commissioners were absent:

Jason Davis, Lewis County Sheriff, Idaho Sheriff's Association Tim Miller, Executive Director, Idaho Peace Officers Association

The Chair announced a quorum was present.

Others present:

Haline Anderson, Commission Secretary (OAG) Corporal Cole Kuta, 2023 MOH Recipient Office Demetrius Amos, 2023 MOH Recipient Officer Makenzie Handel, 2023 MOH Recipient Officer Jordan Johnson, 2023 MOH Recipient Officer Joel Weinheimer, 2023 MOH Recipient

Item 1b – Review of Agenda –The agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made. Comm'r. Carpenter moved to approve the agenda. Comm'r. Denny seconded

the motion. Chairman Labrador called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 2 – Prior Meeting Minutes - The minutes from the meeting on March 8th were reviewed; no amendments were made. Comm'r. Carpenter moved to approve the meeting minutes from March 8th. Comm'r. Denny seconded the motion. Chairman Labrador called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 3 – Ceremony Logistics and Introduction of Recipients – Chairman Labrador welcomed the recipients and families to the meeting and congratulated them. Chairman Labrador made sure each of the names were correctly pronounced for the ceremony. Commission Secretary Haline talked through the logistics of the ceremony for the Commission and the recipients. Each Commissioner congratulated and thanked the recipients for their meritorious actions.

Comm'r. Johnson moved to adjourn the meeting. Comm'r. Taylor seconded the motion. Chairman Labrador called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 1:35 p.m.