## Meeting Minutes

## IDAHO LAW ENFORCEMENT, FIREFIGHTING AND EMS MEDAL OF HONOR COMMISSION

Wednesday, February 20, 2013 10:00 A.M. MDT

Office of the Idaho Attorney General Statehouse, Room 210 700 West Jefferson Street Boise, Idaho

Attorney General Lawrence Wasden, chairing the meeting, called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

**Item 1** – The Commission Secretary called roll.

The following commissioners were present:

Lawrence Wasden, Attorney General
Greg Bower, Ada County Prosecuting Attorney
William Flink, POST Academy
Martin Knoelk, Division Chief, Boise Fire Department
Joe Rice, Chief, Soda Springs Police Department (via teleconference)
Blair Olsen, Jefferson County Sheriff
Bob Wells, Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security
Doug Borah, Idaho Peace Officers Association (via teleconference)
Wayne Denney, EMS Bureau Chief, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (via teleconference)

The Chairman announced a quorum was present.

Others present: Teri Nealis, Commission Secretary

The agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made.

**Item 2 -** Chairman Wasden asked if there were any corrections to the proposed May 18, 2012 minutes. Hearing none, he called for a motion to approve. Bob Wells moved to approve the minutes, and the motion was seconded by Blair Olsen. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the question. The motion passed unanimously.

**Item 3** – Chairman Wasden announced that no applications were received for the Medal of Honor for 2013. Discussion followed over timeline that is used for the announcement, deadline for

applications and the meeting of the Commission and the Commissioners decided that the timeline does not need changing. Chairman Wasden noted that per the statute, the Commission must meet regardless of whether nominations are received.

Bob Wells moved for a commendation to the Secretary for her work on the Commission and the motion was seconded. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the question. The motion passed unanimously.

**Item 4** – Chairman Wasden called for a motion to adjourn. Bob Wells moved to adjourn, and the motion was seconded by Greg Bower. Chairman Wasden called for the question. The motion passed unanimously.

The Commission meeting adjourned at 10:09 a.m.