## **Meeting Minutes**

## Idaho Law Enforcement, Firefighting and EMS Medal of Honor Commission

Wednesday, March 12, 2008 1:30 p.m. (MDT)

Office of the Attorney General Natural Resources Division Conference Room 700 West State Street, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor Boise, Idaho

Present at the meeting location Bill von Tagen, Deputy Attorney General, *Commission Chairman* Ron Anderson, Meridian Fire Chief Mike Becar, P.O.S.T. Council Representative Doug Borah, Idaho Peace Officers Association Dia Gainor, Bureau Chief, Emergency Medical Services, Dept. of Health & Welfare Blair Olsen, Jefferson County Sheriff Joe Rice, Soda Springs Police Chief Bob Wells, Office of the Governor Melissa Ward, secretary to Chairman von Tagen Jan Egge, Boise Police Department Volunteer

<u>Absent</u>

Bill Douglas, Kootenai County Prosecuting Attorney, Commission Secretary

Agenda Item I - Call to Order, Review of Agenda

Chairman von Tagen called the meeting to order at approximately 1:30 p.m. (MDT). The meeting agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made.

Agenda Item II – Prior Meeting's Minutes

The prior meeting's minutes were reviewed and approved.

Agenda Item III – Review 2008 Nominations and Select 2008 Medal Recipients

Ms. Egge, whom the Boise Police Chief appointed to assist in the documentation of the department's nominations, provided oral testimony regarding each of the Boise PD nominations.

Idaho Medal of Honor Commission Meeting Minutes March 12, 2008 Page 2 of 2

The Commission discussed each nomination at length and chose six recipients of the 2008 Medal of Honor:

Officer Brek Orton, Boise Police Department Officer Jesse Applehans, Moscow Police Department Sgt. Phil Gray, Latah County Sheriff's Office Sgt. Brannon Jordan, Latah County Sheriff's Office Deputy Ryan Sillers, Latah County Sheriff's Office Deputy Jay Waters, Latah County Sheriff's Office

## <u>Agenda Item IV – Next Meeting</u>

Tentatively scheduled for directly after the ceremony on May 16<sup>th</sup>.

## Agenda Item V - Adjourn

The Commission having concluded all of its business, the meeting adjourned at approximately 4:30 p.m.