Meeting Minutes

IDAHO LAW ENFORCEMENT, FIREFIGHTING AND EMS MEDAL OF HONOR COMMISSION

Friday, May 20, 2011 10:00 A.M. MST

Idaho State Police Headquarters Region 3 Multi-Purpose Room 700 S. Stratford Drive Meridian, Idaho

Attorney General Lawrence Wasden, chairing the meeting, called the meeting to order at 11:24 a.m.

The following commissioners were present:

Lawrence Wasden, Attorney General
Doug Borah, Idaho Peace Officers Association
Greg Bower, Ada County Prosecuting Attorney
William Flink, POST Academy
Martin Knoelk, Division Chief, Boise Fire Department
Blair Olsen, Jefferson County Sheriff
Joe Rice, Chief, Soda Springs Police Department

Others present:

Teri Nealis, Commission Secretary Janet Carter, Executive Assistant to the Attorney General Bob Cooper, Director of Constituent Affairs (OAG)

Chairman Wasden announced there was a quorum present. Chairman Wasden noted that notice of the meeting was posted at the Attorney General's office and ISP Headquarters, therefore, all the public meeting requirements were met.

The agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made.

Chairman Wasden asked if there were any changes to the proposed February 11, 2011 minutes. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion to approve. Bill Flink moved to approve the minutes, and the motion was seconded by Greg Bower. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

The Commission moved onto Item 3 on the agenda – Review 2011 Nominations and Award Ceremony. Greg Bower commented that the ceremony went very well today; the Committee all sitting together was a great improvement; and he appreciated having the Governor present at the ceremony.

Chairman Wasden mentioned a couple of difficulties during the planning for the ceremony. The vendor that provides the medals incorrectly designated two of the medal recipients as "Law Enforcement" instead of "Firefighters," and they will send replacement medals, which the Commission secretary will mail directly to the recipients. A couple of the certificates had the wrong date, and the Attorney General's office will update and forward those to the officers.

Chairman Wasden felt having a representative from the nominating agency present (via conference call) for the committee meeting made deliberations much more meaningful and helped in the decision process. Blair Olsen agreed, particularly in the Jacobsen case, as the additional details the agency provided made it easier to make that decision.

Martin Knoelk extended an invitation to the Firefighter Memorial scheduled on June 3rd at 7:00 p.m. Chairman Wasden explained that statutorily we are required to present the medal during this time period in May, which is why the Commission can't present the firefighters their medals at the Firefighter Memorial ceremony.

Joe Rice requested more face time between Commission and medal recipients – just a few minutes to introduce themselves to the recipients. Chairman Wasden suggested it would be helpful to meet prior to the ceremony itself, perhaps in one of the conference rooms on-site. The process could be explained to the recipients, and would also provide an opportunity to practice the presentation of the medals. A meeting after the ceremony would probably not be feasible, as the recipients want to be with their families. The best procedure might be to notice it as a public meeting, call a recess and then reconvene after the ceremony for the debrief.

Martin Knoelk agreed that it would be nice to have a few minutes with the recipients and further agreed that meeting after the ceremony wouldn't work.

Chairman Wasden noted the Committee agreed they would like to try this for next year, at 9 or 9:30 a.m. prior to ceremony.

Martin Knoelk announced the election of a new president of the Idaho Fire Chiefs and that they would like to propose legislation in 2012 to change the statute relative to when firefighters receive the medal.

Greg Bower moved to adjourn. Blair Olsen seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

The Commission adjourned at 11:36 a.m.