(BOISE) – Five individuals from Idaho will be honored with the prestigious Idaho Medal of Honor on Wednesday, August 23rd in Boise. This distinguished award ceremony acknowledges the exceptional courage and bravery demonstrated by these recipients, all of whom are law enforcement officers who have displayed remarkable bravery in safeguarding the public’s well-being.

The award presentation will occur at the Idaho Capitol on Wednesday, August 23rd, commencing at 2 p.m. The ceremony will be held in the Lincoln Auditorium.

These commendations, the highest recognition granted by the state to law enforcement officers, firefighting professionals, and emergency medical service providers, will be bestowed upon the following individuals:

  • Jordan Johnson, Pocatello Police Department
  • Demetrius Amos, Pocatello Police Department
  • Joel Weinheimer, Pocatello Police Department
  • Makenzie Handel, Pocatello Police Department
  • Cole Kuta, Heyburn Police Department

This spring, the Medal of Honor Commission reviewed this year’s nominations, all of which had been submitted by Idaho law enforcement agencies.

Narratives of the officers’ actions are available here.

In 2004, the Idaho Medal of Honor was established by the Idaho Legislature to bestow statewide recognition of exceptional acts of heroism and bravery demonstrated by firefighters and police officers within the state. Emergency medical service (EMS) providers were included as eligible recipients of this award in 2005.

For additional information regarding the Idaho Medal of Honor and past honorees, please visit: http://www.medalofhonor.idaho.gov/.