Commission Members

Idaho Code § 67-8802 creates a Medal of Honor Commission within the Office of the Governor. The Commission consists of nine members, who serve in a representative capacity. Governor Dirk Kempthorne appointed the original eight law enforcement and firefighting commissioners on July 1, 2004, and the EMS commissioner on July 1, 2005.

The members of the Commission are:

Commission Chairman Raúl R. Labrador, Idaho Attorney General
Kirk Carpenter, Chief, City of Nampa Fire Department, Fire Chiefs Association
Jason Davis, Sheriff, Lewis County Sheriff’s Office, Idaho Sheriffs Association
Wayne Denny, Chief, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services & Preparedness
Jeremy Engbaum, Chief, Buhl Police Department, Idaho Chiefs of Police Association
Jared Larsen, Policy Adviser, Office of the Governor
McKenzie Johnson, Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor
Brad E. Johnson, Division Administrator, Peace Officer Standards & Training (POST)
Tim Miller, Captain, Idaho Peace Officers Association
Bryan Taylor, Canyon County Prosecuting Attorney, Idaho Prosecuting Attorneys Association

By law, the commission is made up of one representative of the Office of Governor, one from the Office of Attorney General, one from the Idaho Prosecuting Attorneys Association, one from the Idaho Chiefs of Police Association, one from the Idaho Fire Chiefs Association, one from the Idaho Sheriffs Association, one from the Idaho Peace Officers Association, one from the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council, and, finally, one from the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Members serve for a term of four years and, by statute, the representative from the Office of Attorney General chairs the Commission.