2021 Medal of Honor Recipients

In recognition for extraordinary acts of valor and heroism, the Idaho Law Enforcement, Firefighting and EMS Medal of Honor is awarded to law enforcement officers, firefighters and EMTs who have been distinguished by exceptionally meritorious conduct, assuring that the sacrifices of these professionals are recognized and their bravery honored by the state whose citizens they protect.

In February 2021, the Idaho Medal of Honor Commission met and selected five law enforcement officers and one conservation officer to receive the Idaho Medal of Honor. The 2021 recipients are:

Sergeant Justin Anderson, Post Falls Police Department
Officer Robert Heaton, Caldwell Police Department
Officer Ben Heinrich, Caldwell Police Department
Conservation Officer Randy Martinez, Idaho Department of Fish and Game
Officer Celine Mortensen, Caldwell Police Department
Officer Seferino Tapia, Caldwell Police Department

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 ceremonies scheduled to award 2020 recipients were postposed.  The 2020 recipients will be awarded at a combined 2020-2021 ceremony which is scheduled on August 18, 2021, at 2:00 p.m. at the Cecil D. Andrus Park located at 601 W. Jefferson Street in Boise.  City of Boise and Central District Health Covid-19 guidelines will be followed.  Information on the Covid-19 guidelines will be posted closer to the date of the ceremony.